# Old customer accounts removal

**URL:** <https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694>\
**Category:** Help & advice\
**Tags:** customers\
**Created:** [18 January 2022 20:56 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694 "2022-01-18T20:56:41Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 6\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![john-cussons](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/john-cussons/32/195_2.png) [@john-cussons](https://community.breww.com/u/john-cussons)\
**Post date:** [18 January 2022 20:56 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/1 "2022-01-18T20:56:41Z")

</div>

Hi  
I may be being thick (very possible) but is there a way to archive a customer account. For example its a tenanted pub with a new tenant or a business which has closed. I do not want to delete the file (certainly for a period) but I want to get it out of the customer list. Is there a way to archive these and therefore make them inactive but not delete them completely. Any help gratefully recieved.  
Thanks  
John

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![steve-neal](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/steve-neal/32/327_2.png) [@steve-neal](https://community.breww.com/u/steve-neal)\
**Post date:** [19 January 2022 09:15 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/2 "2022-01-19T09:15:26Z")

</div>

Hi @john-cussons  
I don’t know if there is a way to archive customers, but you could use custom tags to hide them from the main list with Breww QL, so you could make a tag say ‘Archive’, then use a custom filter (and set it as default if you wanted) so that it doesn’t display Customers tagged with your custom tag. E.g:

tags != “Archive”

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![joe-ensall](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/joe-ensall/32/427_2.png) [@joe-ensall](https://community.breww.com/u/joe-ensall)\
**Post date:** [19 January 2022 15:10 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/3 "2022-01-19T15:10:44Z")

</div>

Hi John,

When you delete a customer in Breww, it will not delete them completely, but it will no longer show them in your customer list. If you would like to restore a deleted customer, you can do this by going to Customers \> Quick customer delete/restore tool. You can also delete customers from this screen too.

I hope that helps with what you are looking to do but let me know if you have any questions.

Cheers,

Joe

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![john-cussons](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/john-cussons/32/195_2.png) [@john-cussons](https://community.breww.com/u/john-cussons)\
**Post date:** [20 January 2022 08:57 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/4 "2022-01-20T08:57:07Z")

</div>

Thanks thats a great help. Only suggestion would be that the delete button on customers is called archive rather than delete as it is a bit misleading  
Thanks

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![joe-ensall](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/joe-ensall/32/427_2.png) [@joe-ensall](https://community.breww.com/u/joe-ensall)\
**Post date:** [21 January 2022 16:53 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/5 "2022-01-21T16:53:03Z")

</div>

Hi John,

Thanks for the feedback on this, I will discuss it with the team but I’m glad that’s helpful!

Cheers,

Joe

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![luke](https://community.breww.com/user_avatar/community.breww.com/luke/32/3636_2.png) [@luke](https://community.breww.com/u/luke)\
**Post date:** [21 April 2022 09:22 UTC](https://community.breww.com/t/old-customer-accounts-removal/694/6 "2022-04-21T09:22:41Z")

</div>

Just to clarify, the delete button will delete a customer if the customer has no “linked” data associated with them, such as orders. It will only mark the customer as deleted (instead of actually deleting them) if there’s this extra data. When this data doesn’t exist, it will delete the customer fully. For now (at least), we’re going to stick with the current terminology on this button.
